France 2021
Photos © Jean-Louis Courtinat

« There are more things in heaven and hearth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy. » William Shakespeare

Overview

When I start a new creation, I first look for the right terrain: where do the Karamazov brothers, Woyzeck or Antigone live today? Who can understand – not abstractly, but through direct experience – the trajectory of Agamemnon or that of Ophelia? To stage Hamlet, I approached people with an experience that psychiatry defines as ‘psychotic’: hearing voices, split personality, perception disorders, memory loss. Since the invisible is the central ‘theme’ of the play – in a musical sense – I decided to work with a group open to this dimension.

This kind of work requires a long period of immersion, almost approaching ethnography. Our goal? To construct a dramaturgical score based on resonances and lines of tension between the medieval sources of Baroque theater and the memories – individual and collective – of the people on stage. Shakespeare says it clearly: theater exists to hold up a mirror to human nature, and to cast a glance at ourselves. In this sense, it is certainly a place of truth. One of the last, perhaps?

Credits

HAMLET
Study on Hamlet by William Shakespeare
Directed by / Luca Giacomoni
Translation / Jean-Michel Déprats Dramaturgy / Sarah Di Bella
With / Olivier Constant, Laure Darras, Valérie Dréville, Élodie Franques, Tarik Kariouh, Nathalie Morazin, Serge Nail, Vicente Olivier, Édouard Penaud, Fabrice Pesle, Louis Plesse, Quentin Vernede
Assistant directors / Paola Pelagalli, Leïla Blier
In collaboration with / Agnès Adam and Giuseppina Comito
Knife dance / Davide Monaco
Costumes / Cécile Laborda
Props / Jacopo Leone
Lighting design / Bartolo Filippone

Production Why Theatre / In partnership with the GHU Paris Psychiatry and Neurosciences / Co-production by Monfort Théâtre (Paris) and Festival d’Automne à Paris / With the support of Île-de-France Region, City of Paris, DRAC Île-de-France, Meyer Foundation for Cultural and Artistic Development, Fondation de France, Humanités, Digital et Numérique Foundation, L’Accompagnatrice Foundation / With the participation of the Jeune Théâtre National (Paris) / Creative residencies at Nouveau Gare au Théâtre (Vitry-sur-Seine), at Monfort Théâtre (Paris), at Le Préau, CDN de Normandie-Vire, at La Villette (Paris), at Carreau du Temple (Paris), at T2G – Théâtre de Gennevilliers CDN, at Ménagerie de Verre (Paris)

Duration : 2h15

Video
Pictures
Press
Défilement vers le haut

© Cha Gonzalez
France 2021
Photos © Jean-Louis Courtinat

« Il y a plus de choses dans le ciel et sur la terre, Horatio, que n’en rêve votre philosophie. » William Shakespeare

Présentation

Quand je commence une nouvelle création, je cherche avant tout le bon terreau : où vivent aujourd’hui Woyzeck, Antigone, ou les frères Karamazov ? Qui peut comprendre – non pas de manière intellectuelle, mais par l’expérience directe – la trajectoire d’Agamemnon, ou celle d’Ophélie ? Pour Hamlet, je suis allé à la rencontre des personnes ayant eu des expériences dites « psychotiques » : entente de voix, hallucinations, troubles de la perception, perte de mémoire. L’invisible étant l’axe central de la pièce, il fallait réunir une équipe sensible à ce sujet.

Ce type de travail demande une longue période d’immersion, qui s’apparente presque à de l’ethnographie. Mais le but n’est pas d’ordre sociologique : j’ai voulu créer plutôt des lignes de tension entre les sources médiévales du théâtre baroque et les mémoires – individuelles et collectives – des personnes habitant le plateau. Shakespeare le dit clairement : le théâtre est là pour tendre un miroir à la nature humaine, porter un regard lucide sur nous-mêmes, y faire face. En ce sens, le théâtre est certainement un lieu de vérité. Un des derniers peut-être ?

Crédits

HAMLET
Étude sur Hamlet de William Shakespeare
Mise en scène / Luca Giacomoni
Traduction / Jean-Michel Déprats
Dramaturgie / Sarah Di Bella
Avec / Olivier Constant, Laure Darras, Valérie Dréville, Élodie Franques, Tarik Kariouh, Serge Nail, Vicente Olivier, Édouard Penaud, Fabrice Pesle, Louis Plesse et Quentin Vernede
Piano et chant / Nathalie Morazin
Assistanat à la mise en scène / Paola Pelagalli, Leïla Blier et Violaine Bougy
Collaboration artistique / Agnès Adam et Giuseppina Comito
Danse des couteaux / Davide Monaco
Costumes / Cécile Laborda
Objets / Jacopo Leone
Lumières / Bartolo Filippone

Production Why Theatre / En partenariat avec le GHU Paris Psychiatrie et Neurosciences / Coproduction et coréalisation Le Monfort Théâtre (Paris), Festival d’Automne à Paris / Avec le soutien de la Région Île-de-France, la Ville de Paris, la DRAC Île-de-France, la Fondation Meyer pour le développement culturel et artistique, la Fondation de France, la Fondation Humanités, Digital et Numérique, la Fondation L’Accompagnatrice / Avec la participation artistique du Jeune Théâtre National (Paris) / Résidences de création au Nouveau Gare au Théâtre (Vitry-sur-Seine), au Monfort Théâtre (Paris), au Préau, Centre dramatique national de Normandie-Vire, à La Villette (Paris), au Carreau du Temple (Paris), au T2G – Théâtre de Gennevilliers, Centre dramatique national, à la Ménagerie de Verre (Paris)

Durée : 2h15

Vidéo
Images
Presse
Défilement vers le haut